Some people prefer to work for themselves or own a business. Others prefer to work for an employer. Would you rather be self-employed, work for someone else, or own a business? Use specific reasons to explain your choice.

Many people dream of working for themselves and some of them take a plunge. On the other hand, there are people who would be better off if they become employees. There is a vast difference between two options. Personally, I think that each of them has its own advantages and disadvantages.

To begin with, some people have decided to be self-employed in order not to be regulated by any procedures or governed by under companies' regulations. They have completely freedom and control over their business. Besides, the more they work, the more they get, they will earn more money than working for someone else's company. Owning a business that means they could follow their passion, find work motivation from interest as well as do something they love everyday.

However, working for themselves requires them to work harder and to spend long hours at work. They are paid in accordance with their performance. Secondly, it will be difficult for them to find the suitable balance between their personally life and their work. To focus on their own business and try to ensure that it’s successful they have less time for other parts of their life which they love. Moreover, they will have to face with many risks of bad debt, bankruptcy, even unseen risks as weather condition, and they will take more responsibilities to their employees who are relying on the employer for their livelihood.

On the contrary, people who choose to work for someone else have many benefits. Firstly, for a lot of people who have families and mortgages, job security is incredibly important. The will have steady income through their monthly salaries, despite the companies might be perform poorly. Secondly, because of having fixed working hours, they have more time with their family and make it a lot easier to keep a good life balance as well as not let the work take over their personal life. Working for an employer let you take not only fewer responsibilities for struggling competitors and unexpected losses but also more benefits from the company such as medical allowance, annual leaves, company cars, retirement fund. Despite of irrefutable advantages of being an employee, the risk of it is that they will work in a limited and restricted time or take unreasonable workload.

In conclusion, after measuring the benefits and drawbacks, I personally prefer to be a professional employee since it has the lowest risks.