Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is certainly true that advertisement has become overwhelming and has led to a change in consumer culture. While some people advocate that advertisement brings positive effects to our daily life, I would argue that there are much more drawbacks of using adverts to sell the products.

There are some good arguments of applying advertisements in our daily lives. Firstly, it gives chances for us to know more about the various brands of the same type of products, and this can help us compare the options based on our needs before making the decision. Secondly, without the adverts, it is nearly impossible for us to know whether there are any new products available in the market that fit our needs. Finally, advertisements encourage healthy competition between corporations, which in turns can bring the price down. For instance, during the sales season every year, several electronic appliance companies often offer a significant discount for their own items in order to entice customers to make a purchase at their shops instead of other shops.

Despite the above arguments, there are some drawbacks of using advertisements that cannot be neglected. The most striking issue is the misleading information being put in the adverts. More specifically, companies often invite popular celebrities to endorse their products, which might persuade consumers to believe that they can be as successful as those celebrities after using those products, resulting in a waste of money to unnecessary products. Take the cosmetic advertisements as an example. Some well-received cosmetic companies invite glamorous actresses as product models, and usually the sales of those products can be boosted even though the quality of those items is not as good as it claims.

All in all, in my opinion, although sometimes customers can be benefited with advertisements, I believe that the downsides far outweigh the upsides, and the adverts should be censored by governments to reduce the chances that customers are misled by the adverts.