Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Undoubtedly, advertisement industry has been drastically evolved in the recent era. Ad concepts and way of presentation has improved prominently. There is a group of people which believes that owing to appealing advertisements people purchase things which they do not actually require. Whereas, other group is of the view that advertisement improves our purchasing habits as we get awareness of the new products in the market. I opine that advertisement has actually influenced our purchasing patterns & nowadays people tend to do irrelevant shopping. Let’s discuss both perspectives in detail to reach a final verdict.

To begin with, in running days, many ads are made with the focus on selling the item and make it look like so appealing and important item that people inclined to buy. For example, I saw an ad of fruits cutting equipment on TV. I was so fascinated by the concept and different ways of using that I decided to buy the product online. Although, in reality it’s just an additional equipment for my kitchen.

On the contrary, advertisement nowadays has been completely transformed as they truly depict the actual need of the product, presenting the core benefits and amount of efficiency it can bring in one’s life after buying. For instance, I bought new company’s diaper for my daughter previous week in lesser amount. They turned out to be of great quality. I wouldn’t have got to know about that diaper if I had not seen that ad.

To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, I believe that due to fantasy and attractive ads people’s buying behavior has been adversely affected. Advertisement agencies should realize their role and responsibilities and kind of impact they make with the ads. True depiction of the any product’s benefits should be the fundamental idea for any ad.