SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT AT THE AGE OF 65 THEY SHOULD STILL CONTINUE TO WORK.

EXPLAIN BOTH THE SIDES AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

Many countries have a stipulated age for retirement for every worker. However, some people assert the view and some concur with the same. The essay will deal with both the sides followed by the opinion.

On the one hand, there is a belief that people should superannuate on attaining the age of 65 years. It cannot be disputed that an older person has immense experience in the area of practice which will benefit the company and will be lost if a person is made to walk out after attaining a specific age. Further, the senior employees of the company tend to be more diligent towards work compared to the younger ones. For instance, in many companies the workforce is young and they lack the knowledge and ability to deal with a specific kind of problem and for a solution, they tend to seek an expert who is of an older age. Thus, the age of a person cannot be the benchmark for their performance. Some older employees tend to work better than the young employees and some young employees are worse than the old employees. As such, the chronological age is not the true indicator of performance and ability.

On the other hand, it is believed that the people should leave from the workplace on attaining a specific age because they cannot be expected to work throughout their life and snatch away the opportunities of other people who are worthy of having a job. The new generation may not have the experience to deal with the problems but with the addition of new generation, new ideas are brought to life to tackle many problems. For example, the society changes from time to time and many things undergo change as such new and modern thinking is needed to counter the problems. Therefore, the older generation cannot be expected to be the part of the organization forever.

In conclusion, in my opinion, the ability of a person should be the measure of the whether the person should continue with the work or not and the age factor should not be the criterion. There are many talented workers without a job and as such we should measure people from their talent.