Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

Having a hands on experience of any subject always helps to learn in a better way. It is said by many that while studying, more emphasis should be given on learning facts rather than practical skills. I completely agree to this point.

I had a very recent experience in my organization when a batch of MBA freshers was going to join. During one of my training sessions i asked the students about porter analysis. I could see many hands raising and even got many answers which were very theoretical. When i asked them to apply this to a specific example, they could not do it. This clearly shows the aptitude of students when it comes to application of concepts. MBA colleges, out of the two year program spend only three months on internship on student, which is very less to get practical exposure.

I personally faced the issue of less practical understanding in my younger days in school. We are taught in class about focal length of different types of concave and convex lenses. We even used to do practicals, which were once a week. During the end year examinations, i faced difficulty in performing the experiment in front of the faculty. This is due to lack of practical exposure for students and over-dependency on fact based learning.

I would like to conclude by saying that giving practical exposure to students will increase their credibility in this competitive world and help them achieve their goals in a smarter way than the harder way.