Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

Education is one of the crucial factors that triggers country to develop rapidly. There is much talk these days about the effectiveness of education system, some people believe that theoretical knowledge is over emphasised whilst practical skills that are equally important are rather ignored at various level of education. I am in consummate cord with the given notion and will shed some light on it in subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, many countries especially developing one, still use orthodox methods of teaching in schools and universities. They use obsolete techniques that are based entirely on facts and figures rather than practical experience. Moreover, education system stress more on 'what', 'why', 'when' instead of how. That is the reason research and development is lacking in these countries. Besides this, many pupils graduating from colleges find it difficult to get a job because they do not know how to apply the concepts that they have learnt in real life situations.

Further bolstering my view, it is need of the hour to upgrade education system and fortunately, some next generation institutes have recognised this issue and implemented some innovative ways of teaching that include the application of theories in real life situations. To illustrate, many elite colleges have incorporated case studies, internships and projects in their curriculum as it facilitates students to understand and implement knowledge learnt in books. This system of education is prevalent in western countries and it is proved to be lucrative for individual and nation as a whole. Lastly, providing practical skills in education makes it more interesting and students find it more relevant.

To conclude, an effective education system is vital for the prosperity of nation and government should take necessary steps to make it robust by encouraging more practical skills along with theoretical learning.