Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that all educational facilities pay too much attention to theoretical subjects and less time spent to obtain experience related to future specialties. They claim that a lot of schools’ and universities’ disciplines are useless. To some extend I agree with this statement, but there are also details I want to clarify.

First of all, getting a preliminary experience is essential for success of each student. It indisputably will benefit their future career and facilitate the beginning of the work. If a new born employee spent too much time learning his duties, he will probably lose his precious time and miss another information related to his work.

To give a clear example, when I graduated university, I’ve been instantly employed by our local company. From my first second of work I realized how much practice I need to get, because I wasn’t able to perform my abilities by myself. Moreover, I was upset that I’ve been learning a lot of useless information for the last 5 years of my studying.

However, learning facts is also mandatory part of education. In many cases the employee can’t comprehend his work duties without learning theory. For instance, if you a gas fitter, you ought to know gas characteristics, how to maintain gas pipeline system and most important to know allowable conditions of temperature and pressure. If you don’t have a knowledge in your particular field, you can pay for this price of your health or life.

In conclusion, obtaining practical skills is very important in educational process. Universities should perform different types of internships for their students. However, learning of subjects is also essential part, but it should be strictly controlled by teachers and tutors in order to avoid students spent their time learning excessive amounts of useless material.