Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

In most countries the educational systems focuses on teaching theoretical aspects and have lessen attention on practical skills. I completely disagree with the idea that gaining skills on practical subjects should be allocated more time.

There are several reasons why obtaining facts should be the first priority for all schools and universities. Firstly, It helps students to gain fundamental knowledge regarding to that subject. And without that, The graduated person will not become useful and contribute to his/her countries' economical system. Secondly, being familiar with a subject well, it may lead them for better career in the future. Finally, this method may have many advantages for the individual. The most important part of that would be a student who recently graduated and have broader look towards what learnt, can solve problems in a professional matter. For example, we all may know someone who has left the school and started a new occupation without requiring knowledge. In my opinion, he would not be as successful as somebody who mastered that subject with proper methods.

I believe that practical skills should be taught after theoretical facts. It would be a bad way of teaching because the person finally become confused about which course should use in order to advance his career and earn money. Furthermore, Focusing time and effort much on practical skills would be the waste of time and person may become distressed. For example, such person can cause fatal mistakes in his job which might lead to career destruction.

In conclusion, my view is that the educational systems in any countries should focus on the theoretical and proven facts rather than paying too much attention to practical skills. It is wrong to spend time and effort teaching practical skills without proper and fundamental knowledge.