Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

It is common perspective that much emphasis is placed on memorization of theoretical facts and not on helping students to acquire practical skills. I completely agree with this statement. This essay will discuss my points of view in upcoming paragraphs.

Many institutions focus make students learn facts, be it primary or tertiary education. One of the main reasons behind this practice is that the education system in most of the countries require students to learn theories to get good grades. Due to peer pressure and the desire to get top ranks makes the student focus more on memorizing the syllabus rather than trying to learn it practically. Moreover, in tertiary education, students have an abundance of information to learn which includes various types of essays, class presentations and many more. This overwhelms them and they are left with no time to give to practical learning.

Lack of emphasis on practical skills have many reason. Firstly, teaching practical skills costs a lot of money as various type of equipment is required to carry out the experiments such as chemicals, mechanical apparatus. Institutions avoid to invest money on such things. Furthermore, university students are always drowning in their course related theory assignments, which makes it hard for them to give time to practical study. Also, mostly theory classes are held every day of the week whereas practicals are conducted only once or twice a week. So this unsymmetrical distribution of time also causes lack of practical skills among students.

To conclude, both practical as well as theoretical skills are required to work or gain expertise in any field. So, equal emphasis should be put on both for the overall development of the student.