Some people say that government should break down all the historical buildings and replace them with modern buildings Do you agree or disagree

Should the government advocate development at the cost of demolishing historic buildings? Absolutely not! Even thought some may concur that it is essential to replace them with modern buildings, another school of thought have completely opposing views. In my opinion, history should be cherished rather than destroyed and the same shall be analyzed in this essay.

To begin with, historic buildings are the final thread of connection to our rich and varied history. They remind us of the struggles and efforts undertaken by our ancestors to safeguard the people and preserve the culture. Secondly, many buildings have an ancient construction, particularly the colonial structures, which are very rare to witness these day. Hence, these have been converted into local attractions that attract countless of tourists and generates income for the government. For example, the Taj Mahal, which is an important structure in Indian history, is frequented by many and is also considered to be one of the major contributors to the tourism industry. If we demolish these structures to build modern buildings, there will be serious repercussions.

Similarly, these historic buildings are considered to be a symbol of pride. Instead of breaking them down, the government should make efforts to restore them to their former glory. Although, due to the housing problem it is vital to build modern buildings, but that cannot be achieved by compromising historic buildings. For instance, in India many significantly important buildings were broken down to pave the way for new constructions, however, the housing problems still persists and remains unresolved. Therefore, the government should in evidently adopt alternative approach rather than just ruthlessly tearing down historic structures.

In conclusion, I believe historic buildings should be preserved since they are a reminder of the history and also enhances tourism that contributes to the economy. Furthermore, the government should maintain them as they are a symbol of gratification for the country.