Some people say that international sporting events contribute greatly to peace and stability in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world of crime and terrorism, events like international sports will help to bring harmony in the country and spread the message of peace and love among the citizens. There is an ideological verbalisation that ‘sports not only build better athletes but also builds better people’, it generates a feeling of nationalism among the people without the feeling of hatred for other countries. To what extent the countries will beneft by participation in worldwide competitions will be discussed further in this essay.

To embark on, sports played at an intercontinental level among the countries will help in building a healthy competition among them. They will play with each other with a positive spirit and enthusiasm. This helps to build a feeling of brotherhood among the people of different countries. For example, India and Pakistan though have a lot of tension at their borders, but the friendly cricket match between them helps a lot as the players from the opposing countries play in peace and harmony as well as it serves as a binding factor with in them. Denizens of various nations come close to each other, have a friendly discussion and sharing of jokes among themselves

Moreover, multinational sporting events helps to bring all the provinces together playing for their fame. For example, substantial events like Olympic games, commonwealth games help to bring sportsmen of various territories and contribute to their popularity. For example, people from places like west indies which is hardly known, when represent their birthplace on national events helps in the global recognition of their country. It also generates a feeling of patriotism when their national anthem is played and their flag is hoisted after winning the gold medal, additionally, everyone gives a standing ovation to that country.

To conclude, I completely agree with the opinion that when Sports played at International level helps in easing tensions between countries and helps to outspread the message of tolerance, peace, and companionship.