Some people say International sports events help in world peace. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the tension between the countries is at peak with one country having an issue with the other due to the difference of opinion or lending a helping hand to a country which is not supported by the other. As a result, the issues build up between the nations or a group of nations. There are some people who feel that the hosting of international events would help in achieving the world peace while the remaining few hold a dissenting opinion. The essay will deal with both the sides followed by a conclusion.

On the one hand, we are living in a world where the difference of opinion can lead to disputes or sanctions being imposed on countries and some people feel that the sports events will help in attaining world peace. It is rightly said so as in any international sports events the nations are involved in large scale with even the intervention of governments and their staff as well. This type of interaction would not have been feasible without the events. For instance, the FIFA World Cup 2018 had paved way for the NATO countries to have a friendly visit to Russia which had been facing harsh sanctions from the NATO head country and the same due to the pressure of the other NATO members, the American President was constrained to meet the Russian counterpart which has impliedly ended the cold war between the two nations and eased sanctions although the said move has been criticized by the members of Senate of the United States. Therefore, these events help in setting the stage which would have not been feasible otherwise and attain the goals which are not easy without the global stage.

On the other hand, some people hold a dissenting opinion and say that the events to set a global stage where the countries can come to the same level and sort out their differences, but nowadays, most of the countries are resorting to neglect the events which are hosted by the country with which the relations are sour or due to some diplomatic issue the countries do not have faith over each other. To cite an example, many countries are now following the footsteps of Canada, the United States and Thailand who ignored participation in Olympic Games, 1980 due to the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan. The countries find it a better alternative to ignore the stage and linger on to settle the dispute and come on the same page. Thus, it can be said that with the ignorance of the respective countries no concrete steps can be taken.

In conclusion, it can be undoubtedly said that the stage is set by the global events. However, if the countries are not willing to sort out the issues then nothing fruitful can be achieved from these events. The world peace cannot be achieved by ignoring the stage and not acknowledging the issues.