Some people say that it is impossible to live comfortably in big cities What problems are faced by the people living in big cities What solutions can be taken to solve this problem

Living in major cities can be perceived by some to be uncomfortable. Some of the problems faced by people living in metropolitan areas are high cost of living and increased rate of crime. Decentralization of cosmopolitan areas and increase in the rate of security measures are some of the ways to curb these problems.

The two major issues associated with living in a town are increased cost of living and high rate of crime which make living in this area difficult. People who reside in a township area find it very difficult to afford a homely apartment. Most apartments available for rent are too expensive to afford and the cheap ones are most time worn off and dilapidated. In addition, inhabitants of city centre areas are always living in fear of being robbed because of the high level of criminal activities in these area. For instance, a report carried out in the largest city in Nigeria, Lagos showed that an average Nigerian cannot afford to live comfortably in this city because of the high cost of rent. There has also been reported cases of constant robberies in these areas.

0Decentralization of large township areas and increase in the level of security measures in place in these areas are some of the ways to resolve these problems. Most people move to large cities in search of greener pastures because that is where a lot of companies are situated. By decentralizing these companies and ensuring that they are located across different region, people will not have reasons to migrate. As result, the demand for houses would not surpass the supply thus, aiding the reduction in renting a flat. Furthermore, increasing security measures will help abate the issue of stealing and other immoralities. People who perpetuate these crimes would be aware that security officials are on their trail and once they are caught, they would be living the rest of their lives behind bars. For example, in developed countries where industries are decentralized, houses in central area are very affordable, hence, people are able to live comfortably in these region. In addition, regions with high level of security measures reported fewer cases of people breaking law and order as reported in the New York times published on the 25th of May, 2020.

In summary, living in a metropolis can sometimes be unpleasant. Some of the issues causing this can be attributed to high standards of living and high rate of illegal activities. The two main solutions that can help address these problems are decentralization of cit centres and increase level of security measures.