Some people say that it is individual responsibility to protect the environment while others say it is the government’s primary role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the development of economy and industry, environmental issue has become more severe than the past. Someone declare that everybody has the duty to protect the environment, while others insist that our government should tackle the problem. In my own perspective, both views are equally important.

On the one hand, everyone has the responsibility to protect the environment, because it is protecting the place that we are living in. For instance, people should never throw any garbage on the streets, otherwise it would result in a dirty and disgusting environment. Apart from that, plenty of natural scenes and habitats of wild animals might be ruined if people do not preserve the environment. For example, in recent years, there are more and more news and reports focusing on the fact that large amounts of natural tourist attractions and animal habitats are damaged because of the trash generated by visitors.

On the other hand, government plays a significant role in environmental conservation as they handle the technologies and equipment to dispose garbage, which is the task an individual can never do. They collect trash from residents, recycle and dispose them according to different categories as their regular duty to protect of environmental protection. In addition, government could raise public awareness of environmental issue by broadcasting relative contents on TV channels or social media, since some people may not pay much attention to environmental problems. Moreover, government could even announce law to restrict waste disposal of companies by rising the tax revenue, which is an effective way to control the source of pollution.

To sum up, both individuals and government have their responsibilities to preserve the environment and there is no conflict between their roles.