Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether more importance should be given to tree plantation or to housing development to use the land available in urban areas. I agree that planting trees should be prioritised to make use of space in cities but new houses should be built in suburban areas instead.

Open spaces in metropolitans should be converted to greener areas because of the need to balance out the ecosystem and to reduce noise pollution. With regard to the former, trees produce oxygen and counteract the harmful effects of carbon emissions. As a result of this, the city population which is more exposed to pollution would breathe in the fresh air as well as relax and exercise in parks. As far as pollution is concerned, the greenery buffers the sound produced from various sources, such as vehicles' horns, machinery etc. and make cities a better place for people to live in as well as for their future counterparts.

Having said that, residential buildings should be built in the countryside rather than in cities to satisfy the need of the increased population. This is due to the fact that cities are already congested with modern infrastructure and using land for accommodation purpose would create more environmental problems. Another reason for dropping the idea of housebuilding in urban areas is because of the concern that it would encourage more urban movement and would lead to an unequal ratio of urban and rural dwellers. Therefore, it is more appropriate to use available urban land for growing more trees.

In conclusion, I agree that the use of derelict or open sites in planting trees should be of more value in urban areas, while residential construction should be planned in rural areas to make cities clean and green.