Some people say it is okay to use animals for our benefit while others believe it is not right to exploit them.

Discuss both the point of views and give your opinion.

You should write at least 250 words.

Over a period of two centuries, we have advanced exponentially in the area of medicine. From cancer to tuberculosis, we have almost cured everything with the help of animals. Although some people believe that it must be illegal to use animals for the testing of drugs, others opinionate that it is for the larger good.

The major medical treatments have been made possible through animal testing including cancer and HIV. Testing new drugs often has several side effects, sometimes even causing death. Considering this, it could be very strenuous to get human volunteers for the testing, hence hampering the progress. Secondly, we as humans share similarities with animals. Testing drugs on any other species would not give the expected results.

However, with animals being used for testing, countless animals are experimented on and then killed after their use. Others are injured and have to live their remaining life in captivity. Even more, often many drugs never see the light of public use. Most activist stand against the death of innocent animals because many times the drugs never see the light of public use. In addition, animal testing often costs an enormous amount of money as animals must be fed, housed and care for testing.

Overall, in my opinion, we should start looking for alternatives for the drug testing keeping in mind that many species are getting endangered. An imbalance in nature could in turn impact us with graver issues.