There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Nowadays, education is considered a luxury ubiquitously. Hence, grabbing the attention and motivating every single person to pursue tertiary education. Thus an upsurge in percentage of annual admissions have been reported. Few hold the firm believe that, this proliferating trend will rise literacy rates among citizens. However, this has depicted a decrease in quality according to others.

Attaining knowledge is the right of every human being on earth. Similarly, this concept has aspired with the passage of time. The pros in adopting this optimistic approach are prodigious such as, high literacy rate of country followed by greater recruitment percentage leading towards flourishing economy. Moreover, excelling in research and development sectors of state. Nevertheless, promoting personality development accompanied by expanding horizons of knowledge and thought patterns of individuals.

Every coin has two sides, indisputably this growing fashion is supported by negative aspects too. Competition has rised to extreme level among schooling organisations, overshadowing the quality of education provided. Furthermore, many educationists forget their moral values, virtues and customs in this race of being the best. Even though, yearly plethora of new teaching organisations are added to the list but inevitably this dilemma is increasing with the passing day.

In conclusion, although the number of tertiary education institutes have drastically aspired as compared to previous 10,20 years and raised literacy rates worldwidely. On the other hand, only drawback observed is poor education standards but the positive aspects overshadows the negative aspects of this growing trend.