Some people say that no one should be allowed to work after the age of 65.

Others say that people should be allowed to work for as long as they want. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether people should retire from their duties after crossing a certain age, say 65, or whether they should be permitted to work further according to their personal choice. In my opinion, it should be an individual choice to work even if one is old but with special privileges such as flexible timings and remote working.

It is believed that employees do not remain as productive in their mid-60s as they used to be at an early age. This is due to the fact that medical illness and low level of physical fitness is quite prevalent at this elder age. As a result, the work of such workers is hampered and they do not contribute much in their project activities. However, I disagree with this viewpoint because there are abundant examples of prominent personalities who are in their late or early 70s but still working diligently in their professions. For instance, Donald Trump, the president of the United States who is 73 years old and still fit in his role. Therefore, this opinion to restrict the work permit after the age of 65 is questionable.

On the other side of this argument, if a person is willing to work even after his retirement period, then they should have an official license to do so. As it is often seen that elderly people suffer from stress when they quit or retire from their jobs because of the sudden change in their usual routine and inability to cope up with this transition. Therefore, I agree with this viewpoint that individuals must have a right to work until they wish but at the same time, there should be relaxation or flexibility to this age group in terms of working hours and access to work from a remote location. IT companies are prime examples of providing opportunities to aged employees after their period of service is completed to support critical projects on-demand basis, which is a win-win situation for both employer and employee.

In conclusion, even though it is recommended that elderly people should be retired after a certain age due to health concerns, I believe that it should not be a hard and fast rule. In fact, this should be a personal decision and employers should facilitate them with some exceptional rights to pursue their career.