Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both view and give your own op

In this era of technological advancements, children spend most of their spare time playing video games or on social media. Not getting involved in any physical activity or going out starts to take its toll on youngsters’ bodies as well as on their mind in the long run. Understanding these detrimental effects, some parents motivate their offspring to get involved in group activities such as summer camp, etc in their leisure time. While some may be in agreement with this thought, others may contradict and advocate giving space to the children so that they could engage themselves in their favorite activities.

Firstly, as children spend more time on computers than getting involved in outdoor activities, it becomes necessary for the parents to involve youngsters forcefully in outdoor activities. That way, a watchful eye can be kept on them, as well as they get a chance to socialize and to make new friends outside the virtual world.

Next, though the internet and various types of gadgets have become a crucial part of some children’s lives, we can argue that some children are still untouched by these worldly things and spend their free time gaining more knowledge. They find no joy in group activities and become miserable if forced to participate. Hence, a choice should be given to such children to spend their time as per their wishes.

Lastly, not all children’s nature is alike. While some of them may be introverts and prefer to spend their leisure time with their close friends, others may be extroverts and may like to attend social gatherings and activities. In both cases, parents should ensure to be not intrusive beyond a limit and respect their privacy.

In essence, youngsters should be handled as per their preferences and extreme measures should be taken only in the case of rigidness. In my opinion, they should be given a choice to select activities but regular checks also should be kept to know if elected activities are productive or utter rubbish.