Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that all younger adults should enroll in an academic program of their interest. Others, however, believe that they should be restricted to take up vocational subjects which are beneficial for their professional career. While studying a favorite subject greatly motivates a student to acquire knowledge, I believe that it is better for students to take up subjects which will help them for their future career opportunities.

On the one hand, students have a wide range of subjects to choose from at a tertiary educational institution. Some choose to study less common academic subjects such as ornithology, music and fine arts because they seem very interesting for them. However, there are very few employment opportunities and the wages are very low in those areas. As a result, most of such students suffer from being unemployed or working for less salary. A study carried out by the Denver University, USA, reveals that out of thirty students, only ten managed to find a job in the field of ornithology with lower pay structure and the rest joined in menial jobs. Therefore, we can understand that it is not recommended for students to study whatever they like.

On the other hand, most students choose vocational programs which are related to science and technology even though they do not like them the most due to peer pressure. Though they are not motivated, studying such subjects will help them to find a highly paid employment. To illustrate, more than ninety percent of computer science students at the Cambridge University have secured jobs in the best software companies for decent pay. Thus, it is evident that there are abundant employment opportunities for science and technology graduates and hence once should be taking up such courses at a university.

To summarize, this essay discussed that students who study non-vocational subjects will have to struggle for highly paid employment whereas, one could have a bright professional future if one chooses to study subjects related to science and technology.