Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions differ as to whether it is the responsibility of parents to teach good behavior to their offspring or whether good manners are best learned at school. This essay will discuss both views and explain why it is necessary for parents to take that responsibility.

On the one hand, children spend a significant amount of their time at school and teachers have a profound impact on them as they are enforced to behave with discipline. Teachers often give unbiased yet constructive feedback which will help the younger generation to correct their behavior. To illustrate, more than sixty percent of the students at Little Flower School, Denver, mentioned in their farewell speech that they were greatly motivated by their principal to develop a good attitude. However, I believe that the primary focus of any educational institution should be teaching academic subjects to the younger generation and not good behavior.

On the other hand, children see their parents as their role models and often tend to imitate their actions in every aspect. This means that child’s behavior is greatly influenced by immediate family members. For instance, a child living next to my apartment developed violent behavior as a result of his short-tempered father so, his mother has to take the responsibility of changing his behavior. Over a period of three years, the child started to behave normally. Hence, I strongly believe that it is very important for parents to understand that it is their responsibility to teach manners to their children.

In summary, despite the fact that children are motivated to inculcate good manners while at school, I am strongly in favor to the idea that parents should take greater responsibility to teach their offspring to become good citizens.