Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

For many students, what field to study in university is a significant decision. While there is a strong argument that students should follow their interests, other people support the idea to learn some futuristic subjects. When it comes to me, I advocate the latter opinion by discussing both views of this issue.

To commence with, when following one’s interest, people have a chance to develop themselves to their max. According to psychology, students would gain considerable and swift development by spending the majority of their time and putting lots of effort into the subject that they love. Additionally, their ability considered carefully, students are certain to study an appropriate curriculum, which can reduce the feeling of stress and discouragement. As a result, they hardly drop out of school or decide to choose another subject. For example, my friend, following in the artistic field for a decade, recently has gained huge success by launching his first exhibition. In spite of those positive propositions, people suffer a difficult time enhancing their career path and choose to study what subject society needs.

Rather than wasting time and energy, students can make their academic and professional paths more stable by studying futuristic subjects. First, it is certain that the demand of workforce in future technology, science, and biology is a colossal upsurge, making students in those fields easier to find jobs. Second, Not only are they faster to grasp their first achievement, but they have an attractive chance to be promoted to higher positions when they work in the leading field. Moreover, because of the lack of skilled workers in those areas, people can receive a decent income that is much higher than the rest. For instance, recent news has shown that there are a huge amount of students registered in intelligent technology, biotechnology, artificial technology.

All in all, if all the factors are contemplated, we can easily reach a conclusion that learning what is in need outweighs learning what we are interested in.