Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, each as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some individuals are of the opinion that majors at universities should be chosen freely by students, others, however, claim that the subjects have to be selected based on the future need of a society, such as science and technology. I, for one, believe that the former view is correct on the basis of some compelling reasons.

On the one hand, advocates of limiting students’ options for studying assert that the benefits accruing from it are by no means negligible. Firstly, automatization and industrialization have already begun. In other words, most job positions available today will be done by robots in the near future. Therefore, training future alumni for less pivotal fields of study, excluding science and technology, would result in huge redundances amongst young people. Second, the future world is subject to changes regarding scientific discoveries and cutting-edge technologies. Therefore, the more students are instructed in modern science and technological fields alike, the brighter future is for human evolution as a whole.

On the other hand, others put forward the argument that not allowing qualification seekers to choose their major defies both logic and morality. The most convincing reason justifying their assertion is that important majors, modern physics and IT technologies, would not pique all youngsters’ interests. For this reason, no full-fledged and inspired degree holder, who may even detest their field of study, irrespective of its future importance, would be trained per se. From morality point of view, it can be also against human rights. Simply put, it is of paramount importance that every person feels to have freedom of making their own decision in regard to their academic future.

In conclusion. I firmly believe it is self-evident that people have different tastes, and in turn, making them continue their formal education in a subject that they might not revel in, could not bring any benefit; even though that subject is considered more beneficial.