Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some individuals believe that severe penalties are of paramount importance in order to dwindle car crashes, others, however, are of the opinion that some other steps would have more effectiveness in boosting the safety of streets. I, for one, think the first view is correct on the basis of some compelling reasons.

On the one hand, the advocates of the notion that other measures, apart from tough punishments, could have more efficacy assert that the benefits accruing from it are by no means negligible. Firstly, the would-be offence might be happening for the first time. Here, punishing these lawbreakers in the most strict ways would not be fair. Instead, it would be more logical to fine them a suitable amount of charge, and warn them for the possible offences in the future that the punishment is going to be tougher than the first time. Secondly, many drivers contend that the conditions of the roads are so appalling, such as eroded asphalt and lack of signage in many areas. Therefore, it is these poor conditions of the highways or streets that cause accidents, not drivers.

On the other hand, many put forward the argument that driving offenders will not cease their dangerous actions unless they face severe punishments. First and foremost, driving so dangerously with high speeds, many of these so-called drivers are not truly aware of the possible consequences of their fatal mistakes. In fact, Many deaths and physical disabilities are annually attributed by these lawmakers. Second, the more strict driving rules are come into force, the fewer people are bound to encounter any danger while driving. In other words, having tough driving rules in conjunction with severe punishments for the ones who break them can result in fewer car crashes, and in turn, decreased death rates of road accidents.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that there is no room for complacency when it comes to the lives of the public. Offenders should face the consequences of their reckless driving as tough as possible to make it a good lesson for others.