Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Art and creativity go hand in hand. Nowadays the field of art is gaining popularity as compared to the past. However, there are some ongoing arguments, whether art is an important subject in academics or it is just a timepass activity. In this essay, I will highlight both the sides and try to provide sound reasonings for my claims. Although, I tend to agree with the notion that, the merits of art subjects during school life cannot be overlooked.

First and foremost, art broadens the creative sides. In other words, an individual can expand his or her imagination, which may be different from others, through art. But, the chance of this may reduced, unless the individual is guided in his or her early stage of school life. For example, Rahul Dan, who is a famous painter of India, oce told in an interview that, he achieved this success because he was guided in the field of painting since his primary school days. Hence, if a person is guided in art, especially in the school, he may find the creative sides in early stage of his life and achieve success in the later days.

Secondly, art helps people to relate with the surroundings. To be precise, an artist always has a better understanding about the situations. For instance, The great Rabindranath Tegore, Nobel laureate in literature, expressed his thoughts about the society through his poems. It was possible due to the earli childhood guidance. Therefore, if the schools teaches art as a subject, the children may become more realistic with the realities.

Conversely, art can misguide an individual from the mainstream study. That means, a child may find it difficult to concentrate in the other subjects, if the focus in art too much. Additionally, we all know that an artist needs a longer period to earn a good amount, while other can do it in a short span. So it is better to learn the major subjects, such as science, instead of art. I would like to cite an example. In india, an average engineer, who is below 25 years of age, earn 30K monthly but when it comes to an artist, he or she can earn this amount of money in his or her early 30s. So, sometime art misleads people.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate my opinion by saying that, even if field of art is not as successful as any other major subjects, we cannot neglect the human ethics, which can be learnt with the help of art during early days of school.