Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Violence is a social problem that increases over the years. Although many people believe that the offenders should be put behind the bars for long period, other people believe there are other measurements which are more effective.

There are benefits of keeping prisoner in jail for long term. This gives police staff enough opportunity to rehabilitate the person who commits the crime.For example, a person who committ serious crime like murder should be verdict with longer sentence so that the person can be re-educate and avoid to do re-offend.

However, the person who spends much time in prison will get chance to meet with other criminals. This will have adverse effects on the person that they may turn more crueler. Instead, the person should be given the opportunity to do community services, this in turn give chance to person to positive back to the society. Also, the person who committ minor offense should be kept under probation in the supervision of professional institutes like rehabilitation center.

In my opinion, rather than giving longer sentence to the offender, the government should more focus on their resources and find ways to reduce crime because in many countries though the duration of imprisonment was increased, the crime rate was not decreased.