Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences Others however believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime Discuss both views and give your opinion

Crime is a deliberate act, which breaks the law of the land, and results in physical, financial, or psychological harm. While a stratum of society advocates that increasing the duration of imprisonment could reduce the unlawful acts in a country, others contend that it is more crucial to mitigate the cause of these acts. Even though I personally feel that social conditions that create the catalyst for crime need to be addressed, still I will discuss both views in this essay.

Many people believe that being ‘tough on crime’ could be a better plausible solution to curtail these offenses. First of all, they think that increasing the severity of the punishments could decrease the tendency for people to commit crimes. As per them, first-time offenders would refrain from indulging in illegal activities, fearing the consequences of the same. In addition to that, as the criminals are incarcerated for a longer duration, there would be a substantial decrease in offenders within the city; consequently, a reduction in the number of crimes. Conversely, in the United States of America, even though it has strict and harsh laws in place, the recidivism rate is increasing at an unprecedented phase; thereby increasing the prison populations.

Personally I feel any government must concentrate on eliminating the causes of these illegal acts. In most of the cases, the lawbreakers are from the impoverished section of society. As these people are unable to procure proper education and employment opportunities, they are getting influenced by these offensive behaviors. In a recent survey by ‘The Guardian’, it was found that almost 40 percent of the culprits are homeless, and violated the laws to suffice the basic needs of their families. Another crucial factor behind these acts is drug addiction. Indeed, the majority of the issues in India stem from drug and alcohol addiction. Hence, unless these issues are treated, it is inevitable that there would be a surge in crimes.

In conclusion, longer incarcerations cannot yield the expected results, and hence, I feel that the best measure to reduce crime is through the mitigation of its root cause.