‘Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.’

Although it is sometimes thought that increased prison punishments is one of the best solution to reduce crime, other people think that it can further create more concerns. In my opinion, to control the alarming crime rate we ought to implement multiple strategies.

One the one hand, some people think that criminals are not scared of current law and order as a result they are fearless while committing crimes. Firstly, government should look at the annually crime scenarios and accordingly should extend the prison period for these crimes. For instance, if the crime is minor even then also some days of prison sentence should be given to ensure these people are not indulge in criminal activities in future. Secondly, for serious crimes long prison sentences must be converted to death penalty. This will stop people from crime and will show it is not tolerated. This can be illustrated with example from many gulf countries like Dubai where crime has zero tolerance and death penalties are given in front of public.

On the other hand, we must implement adequate measures to prevent crime situations. Unemployment is the common issue over the world that has resulted in the increased crime rate. Administration should work on creating more job opportunities and police should keep a check on these people. In addition, more rehabilitation centers to be opened so that people who came from prison do not re-offend and are trained on specific skill set to survive. As per recent report from government, 30% of the criminals do crime again after imprisonment as they are left with no other option.

To conclude, adding more prison period will require more infrastructure to manage and might not create fear in criminals mind. I strongly believe investing in creating job opportunities and increasing number of police to prevent crime is need of the hour.