‘Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.’

Although it is sometimes thought that increased prison punishments can help reduce crime, it usually has a reverse impact. In my opinion, increasing the punishment isn’t the only solution to control the alarming crime rate and we ought to implement multiple strategies.

On the one hand, it can be argued that taking strict measures against criminal are expected to yield better results. There are some examples that support this. For instance, it was observed in Malaysia & UAE that with stricter punishments the crime rate was reduced by 50% over a period of 3 years. Also, in India during the period when Capital punishment was given for serious crimes the number of cases reported were half as compared to today. Furthermore, it is also believed that this serves as a prevention technique as it invokes fear in the mind of potential criminals and is also seen as a proactive measure to control crimes from happening.

On the other hand, research has shown that majority criminals are not scared of committing crimes due to psychological factors and it will require more interventions than just increasing the punishment. Firstly, Crimes happen due to the surroundings & the socio economic factors. Unemployment is the common issue around the world that has resulted in the increased crime rate. Administration should work on creating more job opportunities, providing access to education & skill building courses for weaker sections on the society. This is also supported from the report published by world economic forum where it was found that with investment on education and skill building the employment rates have been reduced by 80% in the developed countries resulting in a 40% reduction of crime aswell. In addition, more rehabilitation centers should be opened to avoid repeat offenders.

To conclude, I strongly believe investing in creating job opportunities and and preventive measures is much better. It will not only help save cost that is incurred to run these facilities but it will also make the society better and address this issue proactively.