Some people think that books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

Although books are a great source of information and entertainment but with the technological advancement, it is losing it’s important. I strongly accord with the given statement. This essay will cater you necessary arguments before jumping to conclusion that why books are losing importance as information and entertainment.

To begin with, currently, in the technological era, people are being less dependent on books as a source of information. The invention of the internet has changed the way people gain knowledge because of easy access to the internet. In the past books were the only source of information but now with the ease of internet people can access any information anytime from where he wants to access. To exemplify this, as per the recent survey by the Oxford University, it shows that around 90% of people access the internet for not only for information but for entertainment too.

Going ahead, Apart from gaining information and entertainment from books, there are other ways to get it in a free or rather very cheap way. Currently, people are also moving their focus to other types of entertainment like sport, photography, yoga, meditation, and what not. By following this one can achieve mindfulness and become fit and fine. For example, as per survey by the local news channel, they find that people are now participating more and more to yoga and meditation activities in today’s fast life so that they are free from stress and anxiety.

From the above mentioned points, it clear that the importance of books is fading away in today’s time with the invention of the world wide web and people are moving to pick out other types of entertainment as a result.