Some people think that books should be stopped in school and that videos films and computers should be used instead. To what extent do you agree?

It is a widely held belief that schools should replace books with new technology such as e-books and video lectures, while others oppose it. However, I am of the opinion that this is a matter to be debated in light of several factors before a reasonable conclusion can be drawn.

The first and foremost reason is that video lectures make the class more interactive and as a result, the student performs better in the exam. In other words, videos, films, and computers make the lesson more interesting for students. Because of this, the student concentrates more on subjects. And due to the use of animation and videos, children easily understand the meaning of topic. This will result in better achievement in the exam. For example, a recent survey conducted by an eminent educationist Eric Johnson at Oxford University revealed that student, who use technology for their study, do 70 % better in the exam than a student, who studies traditionally.

The second worth mentioning reason is that children can learn to handle new technology and they easily pace with this globalized world in future prospects. To justify, if students learn computer and their software handling, they do not want any training during their employment. So, it will save the time of person as well as organization.

On the contrary, there are certain group of people who vehemently contend that books are vital for children study because computer study leads to distraction of students in the non-education field such as gaming, entertainment and so on. Moreover, screen blue light leads to an eyesight problem at an early age, so it is better to use the traditional way.

After analysing both the views, I am of the opinion that although books are a vital part of the study, computers and e-learning must be used instead of books because there will be more helpful to children in many ways.