Some people think that with combined effort on the part of government and society crime can be completely eradicated, while others argue that this is completely hypothetical and that crime has always been present in societies even in ancient times. Compare these two views.

In today’s world, increased crime rate is one of the major concern in many countries. While some argue that this could be eliminated if authorities and communities work together and the rest believe that crime had been existing since ages and cannot be completely removed. This essay will discuss both views in detail.

On the one hand, intellects and scholars believe that people commit crimes because of the adverse situations they go through and hence it can be easily tackled if law enforcement agencies and public work together to address these situations. Perhaps, criminals can be counselled to bring them to right path. For instance, the Detroit police department and local community leadership organized yoga sessions for criminals which was successful and the crime rate in downtown Detroit became zero. Thus, they have a good reason to believe that crime rate can become negligible if authorities and society work together.

On the contrary, some believe that criminals cannot be changed as their behavior cannot be changed. The acts of crime existed for a long time since humans started living as a group. One cannot completely exterminate crime as the psychology of criminals will never change. Given an opportunity and right conditions they could commit crimes repeatedly. To illustrate, in Chicago, the trend of robberies reduced for a while as the criminals were given counselling but went back to normal after few weeks. Therefore, it is believed that any efforts put to transform criminals will go in vain.

To summarize, there are instances which made some people believe that if government authorities and communities could jointly work to bring the crime rate to zero whereas, the rest believe that crime cannot be eradicated completely from the society. Thereby, this essay discussed both points of view as whether the world can be made crime free with joint efforts of people and the authorities.