After leaving school or university, young people should choose a job or career that they love, rather than one that pays the best salary. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is quite obvious that students after their graduation to look for an employment. Some say that graduates upon completing their education should work where they would get high paycheck instead of the work they find interesting. I disagree with this notion and suggest that fresh graduates should choose a career where their interest is. This essay will explain my opinion in detail.

To begin with, students, while in college always dream about their future career prospects and aspire to take up an employment which they like the most. Some will get tempted with lucrative salaries offered by some companies. If a person joins in a company with the sole reason of getting high pay, might get frustrated in the long run. For example, Morgan Chase recently published an employee satisfaction survey only to reveal that more than fifty percent of their workforce expressed their dissatisfaction with their duties; even though, they are well paid.

On the other hand, people who have chosen a career path in-line with their area of inspiration are performing better at their organizations. This is because they are self-satisfied with their nature of work; though the salary they draw is a bit less. Such employees, due to their hard work with enthusiasm are likely to climb up the corporate ladder quickly in their company. For instance, a survey carried out recently by Nielsen provides enough evidence that seventy percent of top executives in all organizations chose their employment according to their extreme interest in that area.

To summarize, higher compensation will never make a person happy if they don’t find their work appealing. Hence, I agree to a large extent that students should choose their employment in accordance with their desires.