Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The society and educational system have changed significantly from the old era when it was almost impossible for a girl to study in a university while only boys were allowed to do so. Now a girl can enrol to a university at her wish and merit. In many universities, female students exceed the male students in many subjects. I oppose the idea of granting the same number of male and female students in every subject offered in a university bypassing the merit list.

First of all, a university aims to educate people and prepare them for the future and those students would lead the country in the future. If the admission process prioritises sentiments and tries to accept the same number of students from both genders in each subject, it would not be a good idea for the country. Rather they should focus on talent and there is no harm if more female students can get admitted to the university based on talent.

Second, the important qualifications are the academic performance and merit. Here gender issue should not be considered. The equal number of male and female students in every subject is a whimsical idea that would deprive many talented male students. Third, since there is no restriction on the number of female students allowed for a subject, they can naturally compete in a fair fight and show they competence rather than being pitied by a policy. Again, not all male and female are equally interested in studying in every subject, they have their own choices. Implementing the equal number of male and female students in each subject would take away the freedom from students to study in their favourite subject.

In conclusion, the idea of admitting the same number of male and female students in university level in each subject is not a good idea and the admission should strictly base on choice and merit rather than emotion.