Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The majors in universities outline according to the job market needs. Consequently, gender is not a significant factor for this purpose. In my opinion, equal opportunity to male and female in each major is not meaningful because the nature of jobs so differs. However, in recent years, universities try to persuade more women to register in college or universities to earn higher education and try to make balances in majors as well. In this essay, I will outline why universities are far behind this purpose.

To begin with, the nature of jobs in the market are so determinant. In construction industries, the male is dominant, and more men are willing to take this kind of employment Because the majority of time should work under harsh condition even in cold weather or even in the middle of the desert. For instance, according to one study, the male is more tend to educate in a major in which could enhance their physical ability to compare with women. As a result, jobs, itself is so crucial for people who want to choose their major and basically, more women prefer to select a subject in which feel comfortable with it.

Despite, the industry and jobs should consider, the recent year’s movement in every aspect of life indicate that gender discrimination should diminish. This means that nowadays, more women are willing to earn a higher education. Notably, one data suggest that women who are now working in construction industries in developed countries have risen significantly. There are more women project managers found in the market. Even, in some major in which women are historically dominant like early childhood education, the trend has been changed. The more male student applied for this kind of job nowadays. So, this recent movement should consider it but it is not still enough to make universities opt for an equal opportunity system according to gender for every subject.

In sum, the university majors are predominantly chosen based upon of the job market and the nature of jobs. So still, there are a trend that exists in many sectors in which male is more willing to take part rather than women or vice versa. Even though some movement has initiated in developed countries, it is not sufficient for universities to manipulate sex equality for each major.