Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the child’s education while others argue it is not so.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of competitive sports for children.

In recent years, many people are in favor of adding competitive sports to children’s curriculum, whereas other argue that it has more drawbacks than benefits. In this essay, I shall discuss both views and support my opinion in towards of having competing activities as a compulsory subject in schools.

Some are arguing that forcing children to participate in competitive sports brings toxic effects to their life. The first and foremost problem of including these activities in schools is their physical and mental issues. For example, facing an injury could hold a student from other classes, or they might lose their self-esteem or envy the winners if they are not among them. Furthermore, they think sports are not as much necessary as other subjects in school which students devote put more time to. To mention some, Math and Science are more beneficial to the children's future than sports.

On the other hand, those who are leaning towards the idea of having competitive sports as a compulsory subject, believe that there is more beneficial outcomes in healthy competition. As we are living in a society that thrives on competition, learning to be a winner or a team player at a younger age, will guaranty a child’s future. For instance, these abilities could be adopted by participating in a football team as a player in schools. They support their idea even more by mentioning the physical and mental strengths that could be gained from competitive sports which will prepare youngsters for any stressful and fast-living situations in the future.

To conclude, I believe the benefits of having competitive sports in the school curriculum outweigh its drawbacks. but to limit the destructive effects, schools should monitor these activities and come up with more healthy activities instead of forcing them to be obsessed with winning all the time.