Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The number of crimes, reported in recent years, has been increasing compared to that of 10-year-old statistics. ensuring the prevension of crimes is thought to be the duty of the government, but then again, many argue that every individual is responsible for self-defense. In this essay, the role of both the government and the citizens will be discussed in relation to reduction of crime occurances, followed by my opinion.

public authority of a country has the responsibility to ensure the safety of the general people, no matter how worse its economic condition is. government agencies collect taxes from the public and provide services in return including social safety and security. The duty of police force, for instance, is not only to catch the criminals and bring to justice, but also to reduce the rate of crimes in general by eradicating the possibilities of prospective wrong-doings. As a lot of agencies are deligated by the government to ensure a crime-free society, the government plays the core responsibilty to prevent crimes in a nation.

though police forces are being tasked to fight the criminals, it is not possible for them to be physically present right in front of the crime scene. As a result, the responsibility of every person of the community is to defend themselves by their own mean. In other words, everyone is liable to defend himself against any threat he faces in his day-to-day life because it is very unlikely that he will get any support from others. Moreover, waiting for the support to come might cost him more than his personal attempt to mitigate the crime. If every individual comes forward to stand against the criminals, the making of a better society is no a dream.

In my opinion, evenif the government of a country is trying their best to wipe-out the crimes from a society, it is the general public who need to come forward to make a difference. The capacity of the government is very limited, so the citizens shall power it up against the fight with the criminals.

To conclude, the increasing number of crimes as well as the criminals is alarming. though government plays the responsibility to protect the countrymen by operating several security agencies, the general people has to be cautious about the crimes as the security forces can not ensure their support at the right time.