Some people think the government should focus on improving the economy of the country Other people think the government should focus on social services such as health and education programs Which statement do you agree with Explain and provide examples to

A significant faction of the society believes that the growing the economy of a nation is every governments' priority task. However, I differ with this viewpoint and am of the opinion that a country is as competent as its people and policies. Just like a chain, which is as strong as its weakest link, I firmly agree that governments should emphasise on, and put in more efforts to phenomenally improve social services as the healthcare and education system.

The predominant drawback of putting the entire impetus on bettering an economy is that it provides minimal or no benefits to the lower strata of the society. Furthermore, it is typically only the politically-linked business tycoons who are benefiting the most in such countries. It has been seen that many a policy decisions are made by a government, to improve the prospects of mostly the elite, or influential strata of its citizens. For example, countries like Russia and Brazil are considered to be run by the governments that are hand-in-glove with the business czars of those countries. On the one hand, while the governments are bringing in policy changes to improve the nation's business prospects. However, on the other hand, their citizens are participating in demonstrations and rallies that clearly depict the apathy shown by the government to them.