Some people think that government should provide education for free on all levels: primary, secondary and tertiary. Others believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to pay for their own tertiary education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Free education on all levels is the controversial debate since beginning, some opine that government should provide free education on all levels while other opine that it's a responsibility of individuals to pay for their own tertiary education. In this essay I will discuss both views. However, I am with former view and I will put forward number of arguments to support my view.

First, young people from poor families could be very smart. Looking back to history and biographies of distinguished people, raised in poverty can illustrate this best. Making schooling available only for fortunate is not fair. Moreover, the state well-being could also be affected, because there would be a lack of talented specialists, whose skills was not discovered and developed by proper training.

Another advantage of making education free of charge is the happiness of the nation. An individual's inability to collect the amount of money he needs to pay school or university fee cause stress and anxiety in the middle-class society, which can even keep them from having children. Nowadays we can see that the lowest birthrate is in countries where prices of enrollment to highest education institutions are very high. This clearly indicates the fact that citizens of rich countries do not feel able to provide their future offspring proper education.

Finally, nothing seems to be more beneficial to a country's economy than an educated and intelligent nation. Free courses and study programs can prepare excellent specialists, who would work to bring profit themselves and hence their country. That would surely compensate most expenses of state budget caused by education of no charge.

On the other hand, free education on all levels will put more burden on government's shoulder and this way government cannot spend more on other important thing like health and defence which are equally important for development of any country. Also, instead of providing free education to all on all levels government can provide education loan for tertiary education for students who can't afford the fees and provide scholarship for tertiary education based on students intelligence level.

To sum up, even though making all schools free can be very expensive for a state's economy, advantages are invaluable. After several years such improvements would bring fruits of happy, intelligent nation confident about its future.