Writing Task 2 (an essay)

Some people say that not all criminals should be sent to prison. Instead they should do unpaid work to help people in the community. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Most criminals spend not months but years in prison, and if they are not productively used it is both a wastage of precious human resource and waste of government's time and money. I believe all prisoners need to be engaged in activities that benefit them as well as the community.

Though almost all criminals are in jail for some sort of offence (crime), many have never committed a monstrous crime. While some spend time in jail for theft, others are there due to dire circumstances. These people need support from the society and system to emerge out of their lives’s crisis. This can only be done if they are engaged in productive activities such as making utensils that are beneficial to the community.

Furthermore, criminals, even hardened ones, need second chance rectify their mistakes. To create a society that uses the principle of harmony, we need to give an opportunity to criminals to become useful for the community. This cannot be done by keeping them to imprisonment. This can only be done by making them feel that they are useful for the society.

Researchers have proven that those prisoners who are engaged in productive activities such as making furniture, welding metals, growing vegetables, etc. not only have better chances of surviving once they are released from prison, but also have a more constructive mindset. Even one of the jail in my town sell snacks cooked by prisoners to give a meaning to their lives and now that snacks are very famous in my town.

To put in a nutshell, working for the benefit of society helps in prisoner rehabilitation and allowing them to become contributing members of the society. Though these activities are mostly unpaid, they are beneficial both for the society as well as criminals.