Writing task 2 (an essay)

Nowadays more fathers remain at home taking care of children than in the past. Why is it happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

The traditional belief that men are breadwinners while women should take care of chores and up bring children is no longer true in the modern era. In many places, this convention has gone to a reverse way and an increasing number of women work outside and men stay at home. There are several reasons for this and I personally think that it is a positive trend.

It is undeniable that the global economy is going down. Many men workers have been sacked, and as a consequence, they stay at home, do household chores and take care of children. At the same time, women are more encouraged to work, by the government policies such as maternity leave, high salaries, and shortened the working hours. Another reason why husband role has been changed in recent years is the acceptance of the society for them to become nannies instead of going to work and support the family.

Another reason is that, with the changes in social belief, more parents send their daughters for higher studies instead of preparing them for getting married and this enhances the capable and educated women workforce. In many fields, for example, telemarketing, teaching, fashion design, and banking, women are doing better than men and this has created a demand for female employees in the job market. The equal right movement has had a great impact on empowering women and this has become quite normal for mothers to work at offices while the fathers decide to stay at home to take care of their children.

In my opinion, this trend could create a profound influence not only in the societies but among the families as well. Having househusband, men can realise the arduous job of his wife that make him more respectable toward her. In addition, it could make harmony and understand between spouses which positively effects on the children as well. Last but not least, there is always a chance to get back to the traditional professions of men and women if they feel bored as seeking a change.

In conclusion, there are different reasons why fathers are becoming more responsible for taking care of children while mothers are busy with the financial support of the family. And I believe this could be useful for the whole family.