Some people think the government should spend money on projects to protect wildlife while others believe that there are other problems that are more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The central government of a country is saddled with the responsibilities of handling financial and other affairs of the state. Although a few numbers of people are of the school of thought that they ought to be spending the money on the protection of wildlife, others argue that there are crucial issues; therefore, the money should be used to solve them instead. This essay will examine both viewpoints and give a balanced opinion.

On the one hand, some think that the government should allocate funds for the conservation of wild animals because of these compelling reasons. Firstly, they believe it reduces the chances of wildlife going extinct. Most wild animals such as dinosaurs, cape lions, and many others, have gone extinct; hence, preserving animals in a zoo is paramount for their continued survival and continuity. Secondly, protecting this wildlife could be beneficial for the country since zoos and game reserves are oftentimes used not only for educational purposes but also as amusement centres by the populace. These would undoubtedly result in the generation of revenue for the country through the admission fees collected.

On the other hand, others opine that the money should be allocated to solve other problems for these significant points. First and foremost, the health sector is in need of improvements. For example, in many Third World Countries where the health sector is in shambles and deteriorating fast, people feel spending the money on improving medical facilities, and purchasing good drugs would be much better. Furthermore, the money may be invested in reducing the rate of poverty most especially in developing countries. Poverty has led to an increased rate of crimes in those countries. So, investing such funds instead to upgrade the living conditions of people would help in curbing crime and making the society safe for people.

To sum up, even though some people believe that government should allocate money on the protection of wildlife so as to minimize them from extinction and for the benefits of the country, others argue that pressing issues such as health systems and alleviation of poverty of a country deserve more attention. In my opinion, both viewpoints are valid in their own rights. I think the government should budget the money based on the order of importance. If the basic infrastructure is the problem, then the biggest portion of the money should be used in that department. sector.