Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Art is considered as the process of deliberately arranging elements in a way that appeal to human emotions. Certain individuals have an opinion that governemnt should not invest money on art, instead, funds should be allocated to other sectors. This essay disagrees with this statement mainly for two reasons. This essay will firstly discuss that art is not only important for foreign tourist attractions but also a source of income generation. This essay will further discuss that various forms of art such as music and dance are an essential source of entertainment.

Government has the responsibility to preserve the architectural beauty of historial monuments depicting ancient art forms such as dance and warfare.These are the mirror, reflecting the period of glory and struggle of great leaders and rulers of the past. This promotes tourism which plays a critical role in boosting economic growth by generating foreign income. To elucidate, certain states in India such as Assam, Sikkim and others generate revenue mainly through the tourism industry

Apart from the above mentioned reason, I also believe that the government should allocate funds in organising events that promote art forms such as traditional music and dance. These are an important source of amusement that will not only act as a stress reliever for people in their hectic lives, but will also help in building a sense of oneness and nationalism among citizens . To exemplify, a recent study deduced that those countries which promote cultural integrity, rank higher in terms of happy society.

To conclude, i vehemently disagree with the notion that money should be utilised in various other fields except art. On the contrary, it is an important duty of the political party in power to invest generously in preserving and promoting the ancient arts of a country which would help in attracting foreign income besides providing entertainment and encouraging patriotism among citizens.