Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody,

regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to

retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

In the new economies, having a fixed retirement age is being considered as tyrannical and a certain section of working class must be exempted from it. In my opinion, although slacking it for the benefit of a few is a good idea, blanketing a fixed retirement age seems as a fair deal.

There are several reasons why retirement age has been capped. The common factor being the flexibility of changing careers in this day and age. This gives people a chance to relieve themselves off the stressful jobs and switch to a new one, unlike old times with people having single occupations for life. More seriously, an undue benefit would have been availed by many well-off citizens. This over exploitation would have resulted in stripping the economy off its wealth and creating a trouble for the ones having psychologically stressful roles like police officers.

On the other hand, workers involved in manual labour and challenging responsibilities should receive the advantage from early withdrawal from jobs. First are those working in physically demanding conditions such as mines, construction industries, where they might face severe illnesses as a result of inhaling toxic gases and dust or accidents. The others are those in high stress positions where sound judgement is crucial for public safety like emergency medical practitioners and air traffic control operators. giving these people, an early waiver of retirement and pension would give them a chance to relax for the rest of their lives and sometimes public well-being may depend on it.

Overall, I believe that it is imperative to have a common law for all, if the authorities choose to relax it for a few, it would make their lives much easier.