Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The importance and popularity behind the ideology of high school graduates working or travelling for a while before enrolling into the university, is becoming increasingly a global practice in recent times. This phenomenon has a plethora of merits and demerits (pros and cons) which will be discussed in this essay with excerpts from The New York Times and Daily Times magazine.

To begin with, the benefits derived from working prior to enrolling into the university are enormous. One of which is the exposure gathered by working with people already established in the industry. Consequently, the student can be well informed on the appropriate subject to study at the university. According to the New York Times magazine, a survey of graduates from Manchester University was done in 2019. It was recorded that seventy percent of the best graduating students were those with prior work experience. The other merit is that such students better appreciate the value of money, which reduces frivolous spending. For instance, during my time at the University of Benin, I judiciously utilized the meagre resources I had because I worked as a receptionist with Nestle Nigeria immediately after my high school.

On the flip side, the attitude of working immediately after high school comes with its own setbacks. Firstly, the propensity of losing focus is tremendous, thereby having a catastrophic effect on the student’s academic career. As an example, my elder brother could not further his education because he got too acquainted with money when he chose to work after his senior school certificate. Furthermore, the impact of influencing the lifestyle of students is yet another demerit. Adjusting their lifestyle when they finally get into the university possess a big challenge. A report from the Daily Times magazine has it that sixty percent of crimes perpetrated on campuses were by students who had worked before enrolling into the university.

As a closing remark, it can be said that ideology of working or travelling by high school students before entering the university has its merit such as informed career decision making and better appreciation of the value of money. However, the demerits which include distraction from academics and increased crime cannot be overlooked as they have far reaching consequences on the life of the student.