Some people think the increasing business and cultural contact between countries brings many positive effects. Others say it causes the loss of national identities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is said that the increased international trading activities and cultural assimilation bring benefits to individual countries. However, others claim that the identity of each nation is put at stake. From my perspective, this phenomenon is predominantly beneficial, dwarfing the drawback it might bring.

Growing international trading between countries leads to economic growth. When countries do business with one another, they can take advantage of their economic strengths. For example, Vietnam can export their staple crop – rice – to countries in the WTO, and import advanced machinery from USA or other developed countries. This benefits the GDP growth of each participant country.

As regards cultural exchange, groups of citizens in a country can join some cultural exchange programmes and take this opportunity to gain a better insight into the other countries’ cultural heritage. Gradually, the bilateral relationship in cultural terms is formed, giving rise to mutual understanding and respect. Tourists of each country when visiting another can avoid cultural misunderstanding and have an enriched cultural experience.

Some people are worried about the loss of cultural and national identity. As their argument goes, in [your country], the youths are increasingly being influenced by the Kpop culture, for instance. They follow the styles of their favorite singers and actors, disregarding the traditional costume and other time-honored traditions. However, this is not always the case regarding other groups in society. With maturity, people would know to discriminate right from wrong, and become impervious to the outside influences.

In conclusion, the benefits of increasing globalization dominate, and I also believe the culture of each country is threatened to only a negligible extent.