Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Some people think that after every five years, people must clear the driving tests. Although it has some benefits, the drawbacks can not be neglected. This essay will discuss not only the pros but also the cons of this belief.

By retaking the driving exam after a fixed interval, people can recall the traffic rules. Because some people forget traffic rules with the time passed such as truck drivers. In my country India, most of the people, who work as a driver are illiterate, so they are unable to read the instruction boards on roads. If the driving test is made compulsory to pass after every five years, then they will apply efforts to learn these rules and regulations. For instance, In Punjab state, it is mandatory to clear the driving test after every three years, and three days classes are also provided to the candidates before conducting the test. Therefore, the accident rate is also reduced by doing such activities.

On the other side, people who are well aware of traffic rules and follow the instruction which is mentioned on signboards, retaking their driving tests is wastage of their precious time. Because of transferable jobs, some people are living outside from their hometown for some years such as defence persons and many more. So for them, it is very difficult to take an off from their job to just clear the driving test again. Moreover, they all are well qualified and always obey the traffic rules. Hence, they think once the test is taken by authorities, then they do not need to clear this exam again. It is totally wastage of their time.

In conclusion, I would like to say, that retaking the driving test of only those candidates who are illiterate and are the holder of heavy license should be made mandatory, but it should not be compulsory for every candidate who is well aware of rules as it is a wastage of their time.