Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One of the main tourist attractions is museums and there are some arguments with regard to their basic function. Some people hold the view that museums are supposed to be a source of entertainment, whereas others believe that educational value is the vital aspect of museums. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument before stating my personal view.

Supporters of the former concept opine that museums with entertainment facilities attract more visitors. In other words, if museums create enjoyable atmosphere by storing unusual objects and organise games this will give people unforgettable experience. A lot of people will find it suitable place for relaxation and the number of visitors and re-visits goes up.

People who approve of the latter view, however, say that the unique character of museums is that they provide insight into country's history, cultural heritage. Every item of the exhibition has its own history and people ought to be informed about it. For example, British Museum is famous for its collection of precious objects. Almost everybody who has been there know about the nation's history as well as it's culture. Therefore, wandering about in a museum without getting any information can be appalling.

In my opinion, museum is a place where people ought to be able to relax and obtain information. If authorities try to turn museums into places of "joy and happiness" they will not have any disparity from parks or clubs. Nevertheless, if reverse happens and museums became boring with only scientific conversations, this also will not be proper. So, there should be balance between this factors.

In conclusion, both sides have strong arguments to support. However, I believe that museums should find the balance between entertainment and education to enable visitors to get the utmost benefit.