Some people think that prison sentences should not be used in dealing with criminals. Education and job training should be used instead.

To what extent do you agree on disagree?

From ancient times up to now, there are always some who believe prison is not the right way to deal with the criminals and outlaws. They suggest alternative methods such as sending them to educational camps or job training can help them to change their lifestyle. I absolutely agree with this group and support their idea at least for some types of crimes.

Looking at the records of countries shows that imprisoning people not only had no positive effect but also drive some of them to more serious crime and they become a member of some dangerous bands. This demonstrates that finding an alternative way is an absolute need for societies. In many developed countries, many light and not serious crimes are punished with doing the voluntary job in favor of the community or staying at a specific area for a period of time. However, although these may help they do not turn to a more dangerous criminal, it will remove the root of the issue which in many cases is the lack of education and job.

Many thieves would not steal other people’s properties if they had a job and the main reason they do not have a job is they do not have the education to smooth the way for them. These types of criminals are not bad people because they want to be but it is because their lives’ circumstances forced them to do so. If society gives them the chance to get an education and job training, they will be hired by some employers and then they can easily buy what they need instead of stealing them.