Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people Others think that it is causing the opposite effect Discuss both views and give your opinion

There has always been considerable discussion in terms of the influence of technology on human beings. It is argued by some that the advent of technology contributes to increase the gap between social classes, I believe that technology is an ideal vehicle for people to get closer to each other.

On the one hand, I understand why some people are of the fervent conviction that technological devices widen the gap between rich and poor people. They argue that technological advances have led to the appearance of various luxurious products which are so costly that only the rich in the society are able to afford. Take supercars as a typical example, these cars are often equipped with upper-level performance engines and other state-of-the-art equipment. Also, they have to experience rigorous testing process about safety before delivery to customers, so they are too expensive in the market. It is impossible for poor people who live on small salary to buy this kind of cars which may cost them a fortune but many rich individuals buy exorbitant cars to separate them from society.

On the other hand, I believe that there do exist many technological inventions which reduce the difference between wealthy and poor people. The advancement of technology has brought many opportunities for most people from a variety of backgrounds to approach a range of technological products which are affordable in the market. It is exemplified by a high proportion of families in Vietnam who use air conditioners and washing machines on a daily basis. In the past, it was impossible for impoverished people to possess have these products which are limited in numbers and expensive. However, not only well-off households in cities but also rural families in the countryside can buy them to improve their living standards as they are not only diverse in size and quantity but also cheap.

In conclusion, there are some high-tech devices which are prohibitely expensive for poor people to buy, but I believe that many technological products are low-cost contribute to narrow the gap between rich and poor people.